Women Empowerment Cell

Women Empowerment Cell

J K College, Purulia

  1. Dr. Dipa Dey (Convener), Associate Professor, Mob-9434656896
  2. Prof. Sushmita Chowdhury, Associate Professor, 9474509716
  3. Dr. Kakoli Tah ,Associate Professor, 9647692112
  4. Dr. Sanjukta Mukherjee
  5. Dr. Chandrani Sengupta
  6. Dr. Tanushree Sen
  7. Smt. Mampi Paramanik
  8. Smt. Mridula Soren
  9. Smt. Basana Das
  10. Dr. Arpita Das
  11. Dr. Rimi Roy
  12. Dr. Paramita Dutta

For online complaint click here


Women's empowerment is the process in which women elaborate and recreate what it is that they can be, do, and accomplish in a circumstance that they previously were denied. Empowerment is the process that creates power in individuals over their own lives, society, and in their communities. People are empowered when they are able to access the opportunities available to them without limitations and restrictions such as in education, profession and lifestyle. Feeling entitled to make your own decisions creates a sense of empowerment. Empowerment includes the action of raising the status of women through education, raising awareness, literacy, and training. Women's empowerment is all about equipping and allowing women to make life-determining decisions through the different problems in society.
The Women Empowerment Cell of J. K. College, Purulia, was established in 2014 to face the demand of growing number of female students and staff. The main aim of the cell is to create awareness among the women through education, by organizing programs like seminar and workshop. The cell also tries to solve the problem of sexual harassment through counseling.
Seminars and workshop organized by Women Empowerment cell and Gender and Equity cell, J. K. College, Purulia
  1. Seminar: 27th November, 2014
Topic: Legal discussion:Crime against women and proposed reforms
Speakers: Biswarup Pattnaik (Advocate, Purulia Judges court)
  1. Seminar:19th February, 2016
Topic: Empowerment of Women: Legal Provisions.
Speakers: Suma Ghosh ( District Protection Officer), Mousumi Paul (Advocate, Puruliajudges’ court), Biswaroop Pattanaik (Advocate, Purulia Judges court)
  1. Seminar: 26th November, 2016
Topic: Women's role in society throughout history timeline in Bengali, Sanskrit and English literature
Speakers: Dr. Ashoke Kumar Agarwal, Dept. of English, Dr. Dilip Bandhopadhyay, Dept. of Bengali & Dr. Rajendra Prasad Das, Dept. of Sanskrit, J. K. College, Purulia
  1. Seminar: 26th August, 2017
Topic: Gender and equity in education
Speakers: Dr. Chhandam Deb, Prof. Ajay Kumar Gangopadhyay and Dr. Ashoke Kumar Agarwal (Dept. of English), J. K. College, Purulia
  1. Seminar: 11th November, 2017
Topic: Gender and equity in service
Speakers: Prof. Rabi Lochan Karmakar, Dept. of Political Science, J. K. College
  1. Workshop: 23rd November, 2017 (in collaboration with Department of consumer affairs and fair business practices)
Topic: Consumer Awareness
Speakers: Md Sirajul Islam Laskar (Officer, Department of Consumer affairs), Sri Uttam Adhikary (ADM, GEN.), Sri Rituraj Dey (member judge), Sri Parthasarathi Roy (Public Prosecutor)
Students of History Department enacted a play on the issue.
  1. Workshop: 28th September, 2018 (in collaboration with IT  INFOTECH ‘Promise India’)
Topic: Health Awareness
Speakers:- Rajib Banerjee ( Centre In charge , IT INFOTECH, Purulia), Sudip Adoak (Manager, IT INFOTECH), Dipali Banerjee (Nutritionist, Sadar Hospital), Mrs Suman Singh and Trinath Singh (Observer, NGO)
  1. Seminar: 26th April, 2019
Topic: Crime against Women
Speaker:-Smt Mousumi Paul (Advocate, District Judges court)
  1. Workshop: 2nd May, 2019
Topic: Pre–marital education
Speakers: Dr. Saswati Ghosh (Associate Professor of Economics, City College, Kolkata), Dr. Sanatan Dutta (Gynecologist) and Sri Biswaroop Pattanaik (Advocate, Purulia Judges court).
Students of the college enacted a play named ‘Chetona’.
Principal's Desk
Principal Image

Dr. Santanu Chattopadhyay

I have the proud privilege to share my views on Jagannath Kishore College, with whom I have been associated for the last twenty-five years initially as a faculty of Physics, and then as the Principal for the last seven years or so. Founded in 1948, and serving as a premiere institution for higher education in Purulia for over seven decades, this college has followed the motto ‘Shraddhavan Lavate Jnanam’( a faithful person achieves knowledge) to its optimum. In Swami Vivekananda’s words ‘Education is the manifestation of perfection already in man’ –.....

Read more
  • Celebration of 200th Birthday Anniversary of Pandit Iswar Chandra Vidyasagar
    25.09.2019
  • Alumni Meet of English Department
    22.09.2019
  • Unveiling of the Statue of Swami Vivekananda
    15.09.2019
  • Summer Fest-2K19
    14/03/2019